5 Best Latin Pop Artists That I Miss…

Jae T. Ryter
3 min readNov 3, 2014

--

This morning on my way to work, I was listening to my iPod and Jeans’ “Somos” was playing. This got my thinking about how I missed Jeans; which led me to think about all the artists that are no longer around. So, I decided I would make a blog post about some of the Latin pop artists that I feel are truly missed in the music world… but they can’t be one hit wonders.

1. JEANS

Jeans, as young tweens, were a fun and upbeat kind of group; but as the girls grew up their sound developed and they became a very powerful pop group. Yeah, members changed like my underwear but their sound stayed the same. I wasn’t a big fan of Jeans when they were first starting out, but now that I have heard all their songs, I wish Jeans were around to give us more music.

2. Menudo

Menudo was my gateway drug into Latin music and if I had to pick an era of the band I most loved, it would be 1983. That 1983 time period was just as I was learning about the group, learning Spanish, and realizing that being a teenager was the best time in the world. While, I began Menudo pre-Roy Rosello; it was A Todo Rock that really made me enough the music. While Menudo switched members so often it is hard to say that you can “miss” them, but the crazed fans, the young boys, the trying to figure who will be the next big star… it was worth watching Menudo. Too bad they changed their concept and faded into history.

3. Magneto

Who don’t love a good boy band? Classic Magneto was perfect. They were fairly decent, they knew who their lead singer really was/or was going to be and the fans loved them. They had energy and knew how to dance. Even as the members grew up, those guys could put on a great show.

4. Karina

When Karina was touring Mexico all the time, she was considered the Cyndi Lauper of Latin American. She looked like she was wearing a trashbag, but hell that woman had confidence. She also had a voice that was powerful enough to put out a great ballad, and fun enough to make the perfect pop song. While Karina is still semi-active, we haven’t seen an album from here since 2009, but honestly the world really hasn’t seen her since “Desde Mi Sueno”.

5. Kabah

Okay, so Kabah is coming back for a reunion, but since I doubt that we will see Kabah returning to a full fledged group with Maria Jose’s career as good as it is… Kabah becomes a missed group. They marched to the beat of their own drum, were ahead of their time musically, and took chances with music styles and looks. While only a few if them had any true talent=it took all six of them (no member changed) to make Kabah what it was.

So there you are 5 artists that I wish were still around performing and releasing music regularly. If you had to bring back 5 artists, who would you want back? Comment and let us know.

Like this:

Like Loading…

Originally published at popenespanol.wordpress.com on November 1, 2014.

--

--